Fresh Fruit

I don’t know how I came across it but there is a pretty good blog that I found the other day that introduces novices like myself to alternative websites to browse. It’s the kind of thing I’ve always searched for in my life…an alternative way to listen, look, feel, trudge through this fickle life of ours. A new and different way to look through the kaleidoscope of the world.
I always ended up steering unwittingly towards Youtube and it entered my head that there must be some kind of alternative to this bloody nonsense. A more specific way of looking at things and, by golly, I think I’ve found it… http://www.freetech4teachers.com
seems to be a haven for all kinds of interesting little ways of looking at the web in a different way. Not for me the popular websites like Google or Youtube or ….whatever!

It’s a big world out there and I feel all the better for it.
http://www.ted.com is another site with amazing lectures on all sorts of aspects of life. I’m not going to go into it now, but suffice is to say that you will have to dedicate a fair portion of your day to go through all the lectures on this site. They are just so enlightening that everyone should look at the them! Hooked is not a good enough word to describe my situation.

One thing I found when I was perusing the other alternatives to Youtube was that a lot of American websites do not stream their content due to copyright issues. Is this a threat to the web…..copyright!!! Maybe it might not affect the independent moviemakers or podcasters who just have an urge to share with the public. That’s the one beauty of this whole thing…the sharing of information…people of all kinds of backgrounds and knowledge just love to share what they know. A showoff mentality that is inbuilt into all of us. The only problem is that there aren’t enough hours in the day to satisfy the need for so much information and there is also the fact that you may turn into a dummy receptacle for a lot of information that at the time seems so relevant with you thinking “This stuff is going to change my life, for sure!!!”. But there is only a certain amount of information that your buffer can acommodate before you move on to a completely but still even more interesting topic!!!

Such is the flippancy of the internet. It reminds me of a far off distant time in college during maths lectures. We had an exceptionally gifted teacher who always explained every equation in an interesting and coherent manner. However, the recall button on the top of my head seem to have needed a bit of WD40 because it all always seemed to jam on those occasions when I needed the knowledge(notably exam time)!!
This reminds me of the early 90’s when the internet was in it’s infancy. Mobile phones weren’t as prominent. The internet was only a little baby waiting to grow up into an adult. Believe me when I say that it is barely out of nappies at the present stage. It just shows you how much we have yet to learn. Back then we thought we knew it all. Let me tell you this…. We were in the stone age.

If you catapulted an 18 year old through a wormhole to 1991…I have no doubt that they would be unable to function without the luxury of a mobile phone or Bebo and Facebook to connect with their friends. They may find themseves delighted with the cheaper comodities such as Mar’s bars and Chickatees but I doubt they would feel this as a proper compensation for the terrible trauma that has been so cruelly put upon them. How did we survive in those dark day’s. I’ll tell you how. “What the eye’s have not seen, the heart will not feel!”…A saying that has got me through countess sticky situations! It also seems to be the case for me that I have unwittingly ignored the last 5 years as regard to the development of the internet. Yes, I have taken into account the amazing exponential increase of internet use by the masses and have marvelled form afar but I did not partake up until very recently! They say …don’t tell anyone now…that it’s only going to get worse or better..depending on how you are affected!!
amstrad
So, as I reminisce of a bygone era that was not all that long ago…I suppose the past always seems like yesterday for some memories… I will still hold onto those halcyon days when a 5 1/4 inch floppy was so amazing or a mobile phone was something to be sniggered at on old episodes of Star Trek. How far we have come………

One thought on “Fresh Fruit

  1. We somehow survived childhoods in earlier eras without mobile phones and internet connections (someone asked me the other day if I even had TV as a kid!). Am sure today’s youngsters would adjust if you could send them back in time. And by adjust I mean find older fashioned ways of being surly, unable to talk to adults but constantly in conversation with people their own age in a language the older folks struggle to comprehend. 😀
    http://doctorbeatnik.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

