El Camino or Bust

Today was a really shitty day!

New start…fresh…breathe in!!! My weekend paper of choice is The Sunday Times. Don’t ask me why, but I’ve been getting it for years now. No other paper will do for me. I would consider it a sacrilage to waste money on the ‘other’ things that they call newspapers….the news of the…and the daily whatits and the awful drivel that some people seem to just love. Call me a traditionalist or a conservative but I just like The Sunday Times. It just feels good to the touch. To carry it it your arms ….you just know that there is bound to be something in here that will affect you in some way. Sometimes I don’t even get the time to finish the bloody thing but thats not what it’s about. It can be referred to throughout your week ahead to inform and guide you through the vast selection of information that it provides. I just love it.
One of the best things about it is the TV guide for the week. I rely on it to separate the good from the bad in the weekly viewings. It is always by my side as I refer each night. My wife and I have little tugs of war over the nightly selections. It has become my tv friend over the years….”have you seen the new programme on blah de balh”….

They even call it the Culture….it makes you feel as if your viewer ship is not an embarassment but a cultural expedition. TV is to be valued. I don’t watch that much TV per say but the Culture guides me in my limited viewings. Lets put it this way …I’d be like a man who has lost his clicker arm if I didn’t have the Culture as a crutch for the week. I’m ashamed to say it that there have been Sunday mornings when we…I stress WE have forgotten to get the Sunday Times before the rush …well…if your not there in time you might as well not bother your arse even looking for it. That paper sells like hot cross buns…gone before noon. They should rename it “The Gone Before Noon Times”. You just can’t take the risk of a lazy Sunday morning with those valued extra few hours in bed. No paper for you …sonny!! I have been there. It’s not nice….running from shop to shop…”Do you have The Times?” …followed by that little smirk from the shopkeeper….”who does he think he is?”.

Anyway….whew…I was reading the travel section of the Times and an interesting article about El Camino de Santiago de Compostela, also known in English as The Way of St James. This is something I have heard about in passing from an old workmate of mine whose brother does it every year. I would just love to be able to do this some time. I mentioned it to my father and he said he might be up for it also…any excuse to get away…so there will have to be a bit of research over the next couple of weeks to see if this is possible!!
Northern Spain is a part of the world that I have longed to explore and what better way than in the footsteps of St. James…its over 750km long and can go for even longer if the weary traveller is so inclined. It’s not as if I have been longing to do this pilgramage but I have been waiting maybe for it to fall into my lap and thanks to the Times I have been awakened to it’s delights. I do hope that my father will still be interested in this …. 7 days walking through the most beautiful countryside that you could think of…the culture…the people…the wine ..the dust…the pumping of your heart and the loose waistbands on the flight home. Watch this space for any developments. It might not happen but we can still try our best.

Thinking about it has made my day much better!! Listen to this twice a day for the next few weeks….Yes, Doctor…..

3 thoughts on “El Camino or Bust

  1. That’s an amazing song! Quite spicey! Just what the doctor ordered for a dream of Spain…That’s where it starts…just an idea turning into an obsession, turning into a trip to the travel office…next thing you know you’ll be saying “I can’t believe I’m in Spain!” As The Be Good Tanyas say…”you pass through places and places pass through you and you carry them with you on the soles of your travelin’ shoes.” Keep dreaming, you’ll get there.

  2. I know a few people who have done some or all of it. It sounds incredible, and even though it may be tough, I’ve also heard it is a spiritual and sometimes life-changing experience!. Myself and my sister have said we’ll do it someday…

    Cool song. Very chilled, in a heavy sort of way. 🙂

    Ps. Sunday Times. Nothing else will do…

Leave a Reply

