Obair Aris

Sometimes when I’m alone I think of my plan for life and how it is turning out. Is there any plan being followed at all? Could it be implemented in a more efficient, silky streamlined kind of way that others seem to follow. To be able to say to yourself on a regular basis…”Yeah…life is turning out just the way I planned it as a little boy…”. It’s not as if I sat under an oak tree at a tender young age to scribble a plan with a pencil and paper.
Wouldn’t it be great to be like that…perfection all round in a nice kind of way…..smooth roads all the way…..a traffic light turning green just as you round the corner…. You may loook at some people who exude this way of life and think to yourself …some people have all the luck. But is it really all smooth sailing for these people…does the breeze fill their main sail all the time. Of course not…life does not take the plain sailing course that we would like to think it does!

As some of you may or may not know, these last few months have seen me lose a job after over 9 years and be left without a means to support my family. Not a nice position to find yourself in after such a long time in the workforce. It leaves you with a gradual sense of worthlessness over time….left to analyse yourself in more detail than you would ordinarily do. The simple fact that your allocated time to think has increased due to the fact that you are out of work leaves you more bothered than usual. That is one of the main reasons that I started this blog in the first place. Little did I realise that I would come to depend on it to help me through this awful period in my life. It’s not all that bad…. I’m a pint half full kinda guy as you all know but there have been times more recently when I never thought I would see myself in a job again.

This all changed last week when I was offered a position in well renowned company in Cork…..ta daaaaaa! Just like that…applied for the job in hand and hey presto after the usual requirements by all employers, they gave me the call….”Come join the party, Paudie!”. Today was my 3rd day on the job and all is going pretty well. The advantage for me is that I have worked here before…over 12 years ago….so it’s like a homecoming for me. Some of the people who have worked there recognise me from yesteryear and there are others who have worked with me from previous jobs. Cork is a small place…so the transition has been smooth. It’s as if my main sail is gradually about to fill for the circumnavigation that I am about to under take. How do I feel to be part of the human race once again? Lets put it this way! When people ask me now “Are you off for a few days?” …no I can hold my head high and say “Yes …but not for long!”. I know there a lot of people who are in the same boat as me and feel the same way I did…it’s just not nice to be idle….idle is the word for it….yes…idle!!! Even for me to look my kids in the eye and tell them that “I’ll say you later, ladies…Be good for Mammy when Daddy is at work.”. This one sentence is enough to give you the greatest feeling of achievement in the world.

I may not be as frequent now with my blogging duties due to the increased workload but who cares. At least now I will have more topics to discuss due to my increased exposure to…people …life…..work!!

A blast from the past. I knicked this single from a DJ a long time ago…precious!!

3 thoughts on “Obair Aris

  1. Ah, great news! Delighted to hear that. Nothing worse than idleness for turning molehills into mountains, in my experience!

    Can’t see the video at the mo. Must come back later. 🙂

  2. Your song pick is FULL of energy as I’m sure you are these days… Life can throw some real curveballs but its all of those strikes as well as the home runs which make us who we are…You know the old saying…”what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger” and even though, during the bad times, you want to kick the guy who wrote that, it really is the truth. I know when I’ve finally brought myself up out of a low, it feels that much sweeter and life takes on a bolder color. I’ll raise a half full pint to you and congratulate you on your new era. Cheers!

  3. Finally got around to reading your blog. I know what you’re saying, it’s boody about time!

    Good on ya! Always knew you’d get sorted!! So how is the job going for ya?

    So does this mean the El Camino trip will have to be put on hold??

Leave a Reply

