Bless me Father!!!

It’s been 11 days since my last post ….let me start my confession at the very beginning father….I’ll have to think back now …it’s not easy for me to say but …well, I was distracted father …’By what …my child?’
Let the endless list of ‘sins’ begin…the weather…the long evenings …the job….the worry….the onset…the holidays….the garden…the kids being off….the weather…I think I said the weather already….not the weather…more like the really hot weather. Why would I want to be inside tappin’ away like a lunatic when the stones are being split …the sizzle of the steaks on the barby….the clink of the beer bottles …..the laughter of your kids….”Give me a push on the swing….daddy….higher….lets go to the pool daddy…..where’s my footballl…daddy….I’m going across the fields …daddy…..nettles daddy….she hit me daddy….I hate her daddy…looks like I need another bandage daddy…..I’m starving….daddy….did we have dinner yet …daddy…..what day is it today daddy….can we have a sleep over?…daddy….your face is burnt daddy….Mammy said you better be careful….daddy….I’ll look after you, daddy…..
Fast forward a few years in time and you picture the sight “I’ll be alright….daddy? Just hold on tight when we walk up the aisle!!”

Where would you be without it….what would you do in it’s absence…. how would we survive a single minute…..
Thats what I’ve been doing for the last couple of days….I’ve been out gathering the sunshine….cutting the lawns….fixin’ me garden….making way for the new …..suppin’ on life…collecting my share of the love that is all around just waiting for us all!
I know it doesn’t make up for my absence….tis’ no good to you all….in a sneaky kind of way I have also been saving up my thoughts for my adventure….I do hope that their is some kind of internet access along the way. I’ve been trying to dig deep into the vaults of my nearly empty cavernous brain or should I say mind to help me in the coming weeks ….to be able to write with some poetic and fascinating prose like travelogue as I traipse my way along the hills of Gallicia….Lets hope they have the sun there too…Tune in over the coming days for the prologue to my adventures……
Oh yeah…Happy Birthday, Roisin…..

One thought on “Bless me Father!!!

  1. You must be getting to the point where you can barely stand yerself thinking about your adventure! I am just finishing off a book about a Canadian lad who is walking the Ulster Way across N Ireland, digging up his family roots along the way……I really think you would enjoy his satirical take on life, he’s got a great sense of humor. Will Fergesun ‘Beyond Belfast’. There is a lot of history about the Troubles as well. Thanks for the sunny clip!

Leave a Reply

